Combustion and Sustainable Energy Lab - Members


Principal Investigator

Dr. Ehsan HosseiniDr. Hosseini
Associate Professor
Mechanical Engineering
Corley Hall
1811 N Boulder Avenue
Russellville, AR 72801
Phone: (479) 964-0877

Profiles: Google Scholar

Dr. Hosseini is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Arkansas Tech University (ATU) since August 2017. He established Combustion and Sustainable Energy Laboratory (ComSEL) at ATU working on several projects such as Solar-to-Hydrogen, Hydrogen production using hybrid concentrated photovoltaic thermal (CPVT) system integrated with Organic Rankine Cycle (ORC), Using Flameless combustion in gas turbine system, Thermal recuperation in small-scale combustion system, and application of Phase Change Material (PCM) in the refrigeration and electronic systems. Before joining Arkansas Tech University, Dr. Hosseini was a postdoctoral researcher fellow in Combustion and Solar Energy Laboratory with the Department of Mechanical Engineering at San Diego State University (SDSU) working on a hybrid solar thermal energy generation system funded by Department of Energy (DOE). He received the Ph.D. and M.Sc. degrees in mechanical engineering in 2016 and 2012, respectively. His research interests clean combustion technologies, flameless combustion, micro/meso scale combustion, propulsion, detonation, alternative fuels, renewable and sustainable energy, hybrid energy systems and optimization. Dr. Hosseini has published more than 80 scientific papers in the e nergy and thermofluids fields in high ranked international journals. He has more than eight years work experience in energy systems industry.

Graduate Researcher

Moe sanjari   

Seyed Mohammad Sanjari

Undergraduate Researchers


Hydrogen Fuel Cell Car project







 Hydrogen fuel cell drone project










1. Evan Ovens
2. Eric Smith


1. India penn
2. Ethan Eye
3. Micheal Vick
4. seth lynch
5. Austin McCuistion             
6. Leonardo AM Gomez             
7. Emily McNabb                    
8. Colt Glover
9. Hunter Johnson
10. Ty Archer                                 
11. Caleb Walker
12. Nicholas Royal 
13. Grayson Langston             
14. John Magnus
15. Gannon Keddie
16. Shannon Williams

1. Brayden Butler
2. William Wright
3. Anna Holt
4. Justin Smith


1. Spenser Mayden
2. Ethan Roberts
3. Mason Moody
4. Ammar Aljefri
5. Hayley Raia
6. Jessie Flores
7. Sari Araki
8. Jared Hanson