obtaining your arkansas DRIVER'S license and taking the test
To get an Arkansas drivers license, you must pass a written examination and a driving test. The test study guide can be found by clicking here.
The written test is given at the Arkansas State Police DL/CDL Facility (located at 765 Hob Nob Road Russellville, AR) on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday at 8:00 a.m. and the driving test is given on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday at 1:00 p.m. (ATTENTION: This information may be incorrect during COVID-19. Call to confirm times before traveling to the State Facility.)
These are the only test times. You cannot schedule another test date or time. You must be on time for the test or you will be asked to come on another day. Set aside a few hours for the testing.
If you pass the written test, you are given a 6 month driving permit which allows you to legally practice driving. You must take the driving test within this 6 month period or request an extension before the permit expires.
Please bring your passport, I-94 card, I-20, Tech ID and Arkansas State ID Card (if you have one) to the State Facility. If you do not have these items, you cannot take the test.
The written test takes about 45 minutes to 1 hour. It is a multiple choice test.
IMPORTANT: You may use an international drivers license in conjunction with your home country license to drive for 6 months in Arkansas, but you must have both. An international drivers license is not valid and is not recognized by Arkansas State Police without having a license from your home country. After 6 months you must apply for an Arkansas drivers license. If you have a drivers license from another state and move to Arkansas you have 30 days to transfer to an Arkansas license.
Never drive without a valid drivers license and valid car insurance!
Remember orientation information about the new seat belt and cell phone laws.