Minutes of THE FACULTY SENATE OF ARKANSAS TECH UNIVERSITY

The organizational meeting of the 2003-04 Faculty Senate was held at twelve o'clock noon, Monday, August 18, 2003, in the Private Dining Room of Chambers Cafeteria. The following members were present:

Dr. Scott Kirkconnell
Dr. Kevin Mason
Dr. Trey Philpotts
Mr. Ron Robison
Ms. Peggy Lee
Ms. Darla Sparacino
Dr. Charles Busch
Ms. Marti Wilkerson
Dr. Jeff Robertson
Dr. Joe Moore
Dr. Sid Womack

Dr. Annette Holeyfield and Mr. Ken Futterer were absent. Dr. Robert C. Brown, President, Dr. Jack Hamm, Vice President for Academic Affairs, and Dr. David Underwood, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, were visitors.

Dr. Brown welcomed the Senators back to campus and reported that student semester credit hours for the fall semester are "soaring" and that a higher percentage of enrollment statistics can be attributed to full-time students. Dr. Brown stated that Arkansas Tech University is in a strong position to make its case for equity in state funding.

Dr. Brown expressed his appreciation to the Senate for their service and issued a standing luncheon invitation for a date to be determined later by the Senate.

Dr. Hamm reported that many of the recommendations made by the Faculty Senate this past spring were currently being incorporated into the *Faculty Handbook* and those changes and updates would be distributed shortly. He encouraged the Senators to advise him if he could be of service to them during this academic year.

At this time, Dr. Brown, Dr. Hamm, and Dr. Underwood excused themselves from the meeting.

CALL TO ORDER

Ms. Sparacino called the meeting to order and introduced herself to the Senators. She encouraged each Senator to make his or her status as school representative on the Faculty Senate known to their colleagues.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Ms. Sparacino asked for approval of the minutes of the April 11, 2003, meeting. Motion by Ms. Lee, seconded by Mr. Robison, the approve the minutes as distributed. Motion carried.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Ms. Sparacino asked for nominations for the position of Chair Elect. Dr. Busch nominated Dr. Philpotts. Dr. Philpotts was elected to the position of Chair Elect by acclamation.

Ms. Sparacino then asked for nominations for the position of Secretary. There being no nominations, she asked for volunteers. Dr. Kirkconnell volunteered for the position and was elected to the position of Secretary by acclamation.

MEETING TIME. DAY, AND PLACE

After discussion, the regular meeting time for the fall semester was set for the second Tuesday of the month at 2:30 p.m. Meetings will be held in Pendergraft 325.

FILL VACANCY OF AT-LARGE POSITION

Ms. Sparacino reported that an at-large position on the Athletics Committee was left vacant due to the resignation of Dr. Robert Sadoski. She stated that the faculty member receiving the next most votes in the at-large election was Dr. Shelia Jackson and proposed to the Senators that Dr. Jackson assume the position of the at-large representative. There was no additional discussion, thereby indicating that this proposal was accepted.

APPOINTMENTS FOR ACADEMIC APPEALS **COMMITTEE**

Ms. Sparacino announced that five faculty members needed to be named to the Academic Appeals Committee by the Faculty Senate. She presented the following names to the Senators for consideration: Ms. Virginia Bachman (School of Business), Dr. Byra Ramsey (School of Education), Dr. George McLellan (School of Liberal and Fine Arts), Ms. Linda Buckholtz (School of Physical and Life Sciences), and Ms. Sarah Robison (School of Systems Science). After discussion and agreement, Ms. Sparacino stated that she would confirm the individuals' willingness to serve.

APPOINTMENT TO UNIVERSITY PROMOTION AND **TENURE** COMMITTEE

Ms. Sparacino stated that she had been asked by Dr. Hamm to present a name to the Faculty Senate for appointment to the University Promotion and Tenure Committee. She reported that she had spoken to Dr. Gary Barrow concerning this appointment and that he was willing to serve subject to the approval of the Senate. Motion by Dr. Busch, seconded by Ms. Wilkerson, to appoint Dr. Barrow to the University Promotion and Tenure Committee. Motion carried.

AND ITEMS FOR **INFORMATION**

ANNOUNCEMENTS Ms. Sparacino asked for any announcements or items of information. Ms. Wilkerson asked for a review of the status of the recommendation made to Dr. Hamm last spring concerning the University Promotion and Tenure Committee providing a written explanation for denying a faculty member tenure or promotion. Ms. Sparacino stated that she would consult with Dr. Hamm on this issue.

> Ms. Sparacino reported that a previous Faculty Senate member, Dr. Ken Trantham, had maintained the Faculty Senate website and stated that Dr. Robertson had indicated his willingness to take over this responsibility.

Dr. Greco questioned why certain standing committees do not appear to meet on a regular basis and stated that one committee he served on last year never met. After discussion, Ms. Sparacino stated that she would follow up on this issue.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 12:47 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Scott Kirkconnell, Ph.D., Secretary

Sett Kirbionnell