The Arkansas Tech University Shared Governance Committee will hold open forums at the end of February and the beginning of March. Four of the forums are for faculty. The last forum is for deans and department heads. The purpose of these forums is to propose action items and to review guiding principles to make shared governance more effective at ATU.

Each forum is led by a member of the Shared Governance Committee with additional faculty facilitators. The meetings and leaders are as follows:

Monday, February 24, 3:00 – 5:00 pm, Rothwell 138 – Dr. Sean Huss, Professor of Sociology; Dr. Eric Lovely, Professor of Biology; Dr. Jeff Mitchell, Professor of Philosophy

Tuesday, February 25, 12:00 – 1:30 pm, Doc Bryan 180 – Dr. Tennille Lasker-Scott, Assistant Professor of Professional Studies; Dr. Christine Austin, Director of Assessment and Institutional Effectiveness and Professor of College Student Personnel; Dr. Erica Wondolowski, Assistant Professor of Rehabilitation Science

Monday, March 2, 3:00 – 5:00 pm, Rothwell 138 – Dr. Carey Ellis Laffoon, Associate Professor of Nursing; Dr. Ernest Enchelmayer, Professor of English; Dr. Jeremy Schwehm, Associate Professor of Professional Studies

Wednesday, March 4, 8:30 – 9:30 am, Doc Bryan 242 – Dr. David J. Eshelman, Professor of Communication; Dr. Pam Dixon, Associate Professor of Counseling and School Leadership; Dr. Jack Tucci, Professor of Management

Thursday, March 5, 3:00-4:00 pm, Rothwell 456 – Dr. Rockie Pedersen, Department Head for Health and Physical Education; Dr. Pat Buford, Associate Dean for the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences; Dr. Jeanine Myers, Department Head for Mathematics [this forum is deans and department heads]

Before attending the forums, faculty may choose to review the Guiding Principles in the Faculty Handbook---specifically the Shared Governance and Academic Freedom sections on p. 15 (https://www.atu.edu/academics/docs/facultyhandbook/2019%20Russellville%20Campus%2 0Faculty%20Handbook.pdf).

Formed in Fall 2019 in accordance with the university Strategic Plan and to address concerns raised by the 2019 Faculty Satisfaction Survey, the Shared Governance Committee is responsible for the Shared Governance Survey and for bringing Dr. Irene Mulvey of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) to campus as the January 2020 Professional Development Day speaker. More information about the Shared Governance Committee can be found at the following website: https://www.atu.edu/sharedgovernance/index.php