Funds for Graduate Students


Explore the scholarship and grant options below to find funding opportunities for Graduate Students.

Arkansas Tech Foundation Scholarships

Inquire or submit application packet to:
     Development Office
     Christi Brown
     1509 N Boulder Avenue, ADM 209
     Russellville, AR  72801
     (479) 968-0400 

Emerging Graduate Scholarship

These funds were made possible by the Gala Fundraiser for new, incoming graduate students. The award of $1,000 will be given to seven (7) students, totaling $7,000.  These awards will be given in two (2) consecutive semesters in the amount of $500 per semester (fall or spring), if he/she has a cumulative graduate GPA of 3.5 or better.

Basic Criteria: Students must have applied and been admitted to an ATU graduate program prior to May 15, 2017. Intends to begin their graduate studies the summer or fall 2017 semester.  This scholarship award will be posted to the selected recipients account.  Students receiving a graduate assistantship will not be eligible for these awards.

Application Process:  Submit a maximum one-page, typed writing sample that describes your need for this award and share your career goals.  In addition, a resume and a completed recommendation form must be submitted for a complete application.  The recommendation form can be completed by one of the following individuals: an advisor (academic/co-curricular), faculty member, or current supervisor (if employed). All application materials must be submitted electronically to prior to 11:59PM (CST) on May 15, 2017. 

Out-of-State (Non-Resident) Tuition Fee Waiver

This award was established for international students and students residing outside of Arkansas.  The programs eligible are Master of Science in Engineering for Electrical Engineering, Master of Science in Engineering for Mechanic Engineering, Master of Science in Information Technology, and Master of Science in Emergency Management and Homeland Security.  Student must be a new, incoming student to one of the eligible graduate programs and must be admitted unconditionally to the Graduate College and program.  International students must meet admission requirements set by IMSSO.  The newly admitted student must have a 3.0 GPA and meet a minimum score of a 150 on the Quantitative section of the GRE (EMHS students are excluded from the GRE requirement).  A statement of a research interest and/or topic must be provided (no more than 250 words), and will need to submit the statement with their admission materials.  International students will submit admission materials to the IMSSO Office.  Domestic students will submit admission materials to the Graduate College. Please find more information about the Out-of-State Tuition Fee Waiver on our website.

Arkansas Fly Fishers Club Scholarship

This scholarship was established by the Arkansas Fly Fishers Club to benefit a graduate student majoring in Fisheries and Wildlife Science.  The applicant must be a full-time student, maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0, demonstrate financial need. Student must be an Arkansas resident or a resident of a state bordering Arkansas.  Application must be submitted along with a short essay stating why he/she needs a scholarship and setting out career goals.  Undergraduate students may apply, but preference will be given to graduate students.

Jimmie Hartman Hoover Memorial Scholarship

This endowed scholarship was created for the purpose of assisting graduate students at Arkansas Tech University and will be awarded each year that funds are sufficient. The applicant must be a full-time graduate student who is enrolled in 6 semester credit hours in the Instructional Technology degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher. Preference will be given to students who have an interest in library science. In addition, financial need may be considered.

Neal and Melissa Jenkins Graduate History Scholarship

Through a gift by Dr. Ellen J. Jenkins, the above named scholarship in memory of Neal and Melissa Jenkins has been established to provide scholarships for students accepted to the Arkansas Tech University Graduate Program. The recipient must be a graduate student in History, be enrolled in a minimum of six credit hours in History, academic achievement and need will be a consideration in selecting the recipient. Submit two letters of recommendation and an applicant letter detailing need and career goals. Preference will be given to a first year graduate student. The scholarship will be awarded each year that funds are sufficient and may be renewed for the succeeding spring semester provided the recipient completed the six-hour course load in the fall semester with a 3.0 grade point average and enrolls in six credit hours of graduate History courses in the spring semester. In the event a qualified first-year student has not applied, a third-semester or higher applicant may be selected on a one-semester basis for the fall or spring. Recipients are not eligible to re-apply in subsequent semesters or years.

Ed Leachman Emergency Management Scholarship

Through the generosity of Roy and Sandy Smith, this scholarship was established to honor Mr. Ed Leachman, former assistant professor of Emergency Management.  The recipient of this award must be an undergraduate or graduate student at Arkansas Tech University pursuing a degree within the Department of Emergency Management.  The recipient must be active in the International Association of Emergency Managers and demonstrate financial need.  Applicants must submit a statement as to how the scholarship will help him/her reach career goals.

Rexann Oller International Students Scholarship

The Rexann Oller International Students Scholarship will be awarded each year to an international student who shows academic achievement in international affairs and/or strong background and interest in international relations. This scholarship is open to all Arkansas Tech International undergraduate and graduate students who have a minimum GPA of 3.0. Preference will be given to students with demonstrated financial need. Recipients of other tuition scholarships are not eligible to apply. Please contact the office of ATU International Student Services and the Dean of Graduate Studies or full application requirements.

John Rollow Memorial Fund

Established as a tribute to John Rollow to assist non-traditional students in English and Creative Writing with tuition expenses, this scholarship is open to any non-traditional undergraduate or graduate student with demonstrated financial need and a cumulative grade point average of 2.5 or higher.

CSP Scholarship

This scholarship will be awarded as funds are sufficient to a College Student Personnel major who has demonstrated financial need. Each scholarship will be awarded in the fall for one semester and is not renewable for subsequent semesters.

Scholarships Supporting Diversity

McNair Scholars