Scholarships for Physical Sciences Majors


For Freshmen

Reuben Dee Caudle Scholarship

A partial-tuition scholarship will be provided for a student majoring in one of the physical science fields. The recipient must demonstrate a financial need, must meet and maintain satisfactory scholastic requirements. Preference will be given to Arkansas residents and those who have prior military service. This scholarship is to be re-awarded to the initial freshman recipient each of his/her subsequent three years while at Tech provided he/she continues to major in Physical Sciences and maintains good academic standing. Awards will be made each fall semester that funds are sufficient.

C. L. Chiang and C.C. Yang Chemistry Scholarship

An endowed scholarship established by Mr. C. L. Chiang of Singapore in honor of Dr. C.C. Yang, Professor Emeritus. The scholarship is awarded to an incoming freshman majoring in chemistry. The requirements for this award are a high school GPA of 3.0 or greater, and a composite ACT score of 24 or greater. This scholarship is renewable by request if the recipient makes satisfactory progress toward an ACS-accredited degree in chemistry.

Jack L. King Scholarship

This partial-tuition scholarship will be awarded each semester that funds are available. To be eligible for this scholarship the student must be a graduate of Western Yell County High School, have an ACT composite score of 19 or above and an ACT Math and Science score of 22 or above, have declared a major in Engineering, Math, Science or a related field at Arkansas Tech University.  This scholarship may be renewable for up to seven additional semesters, assuming that the recipient maintains a minimum 2.5 GPA, continues in one of the required fields of study, and enrolls in and completes a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester.

Truman McEver Memorial Scholarship

Recipient must be an entering freshman who is majoring in the Department of Physical and Life Sciences. Academic ability and financial need are considered.

For Current Students

Vann Kerns Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship will be awarded each year that funds are sufficient. Preference will be given to students pursuing a degree in physics, mathematics, or a pre-medical school course of study. To be considered for this award, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, have demonstrated financial need and enroll in and successfully complete a minimum of fifteen hours each semester.

Greg A. Parks Memorial Scholarship

A partial tuition scholarship will be granted each semester that funds are available to a junior or senior level student majoring in psychology or pre-med (biology or chemistry). Applicants must be enrolled in 15 credit hours or more, have a minimum cumulative 3.0 grade point average, and demonstrate financial need. The initial recipient shall be eligible to retain the scholarship for up to three additional consecutive semesters provided he/she enrolls in and successfully completes 15 credit hours and maintains a cumulative 3.0 grade point average.

Louise Berkeley Turner Scholarship

This partial-tuition scholarship will be awarded each fall semester that funds are available to a student majoring in math, science or a related field and may be renewed for one consecutive semester provided the recipient is making sufficient academic progress.

Virgil Alvin Turner Book Scholarship

A book scholarship established by Mr. and Mrs. Raymond B. Stroud which is awarded for the fall semester of the sophomore year to a major in chemistry. Recipients should be dedicated to obtaining a degree in chemistry and demonstrate this through scholastic achievements.


Foundation Scholarship Application