## Minutes of THE FACULTY SENATE

## ARKANSAS TECH UNIVERSITY-OZARK CAMPUS

ATTENDANCE The Faculty Senate met in a regular session Thursday, April 11, 2019, at 3:00 p.m. in

the conference room of the HSW Building. The following members were present:

Gwen Faulkenberry, Chair

Adele Berry Jessica Pipkins Bobby Sewell Marcus Smith

Clinton Hall was excused because he was nominated for a faculty award.

Special Guests: Mike Bogue

Mrs. Faulkenberry called the meeting to order. CALL TO ORDER

APPROVAL OF **MINUTES** 

Motion by Mr. Sewell, seconded by Mrs. Berry, all approved.

**NEW BUSINESS:** 

ETHICS POLICY The senate voted to adopt the revised ethics proposal Thomas Pennington brought last

meeting. Now it will move forward to Executive Council.

Mike Bogue outlined a retention initiative proposed by the committee. **STUDENT** 

SUCCESS/ There was a lot of discussion and the decision to table until more specifics are

RETENTION available.

Lynn Washington requested that Human Services be moved into the Health Science ORGANIZATIONAL CHANGE

category. Motion by Mr. Sewell, second by Mrs. Pipkins, motion carried.

**DIVERSITY AND** Mrs. Faulkenberry reported on Diversity and Inclusion for the Ozark committee INCLUSION

member, Cristina Blanco. Ms. Blanco requested we report any diversity and inclusion issues to her.

OTHER BUSINESS:

COMMITTEE

PRESIDENT'S Mrs. Faulkenberry reported on the President's Communication Committee meeting. COMMUNICATION

FACULTY AWARDS Mrs. Faulkenberry announced the award nominees. And ad hoc committee was formed

to vote on awards immediately following the meeting.

CALENDAR The next scheduled meeting will be held briefly at graduation on May 8. New

members will be introduced.

## ADJOURNMENT Mr. Smith moved to adjourn and was seconded by Mrs. Pipkins

Respectfully submitted

Gwen Faulkenberry for Clinton Hall