# Arkansas Tech University - Ozark Curriculum Committee Meeting

November 21, 2005

### Minutes

The Curriculum Committee met in the Conference Room of the Administration Building on November 21, 2005 at 3:00 p.m. The following members were present: Tekla Barr, Cathy Fultz, Stan Hatcher, Janet Mickens, William Nehus, Ken Warden, Jo Blondin, and Brenda Shoop.

- APPROVAL OF Mr. Warden called the meeting to order and asked for action to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. Motion by William Nehus, second by Cathy Fultz to approve the minutes. Motion carried.
- CURRICULAR Mr. Warden asked the Committee to review the recommendation for ITEMS changing the By-Laws to have a 5-member Committee due to the small total number of faculty.

Motion by Tekla Barr, second by Janet Mickens to approve the recommendation for a 5-member Committee. Motion carried.

## **Applied Laboratory Technology**

Beginning with the Spring 2005 semester:

- Change course number for Introduction to Applied Microbiology from ALT 1301 to ALT 1104.
- Change course number for Internship from ALT 1103 to ALT 1903
- Change course number for Food Grades and Standards from ALT 2701 to ALT 1212
- Delete COM 2102 Technical Writing and Speaking from required coursework

Motion by Stan Hatcher, second by Cathy Fultz to approve the changes as requested by the Applied Laboratory Technology program. Motion carried.

## **Paramedic/Emergency Medical Services**

Beginning with the Summer I 2005 semester:

- Change course number for Anatomy and Physiology from EMTP 1104 to EMTP 1222
- Change course number for Paramedic Field Internship II from EMTP 1502 to EMTP 1504.

Motion by Janet Mickens, second by William Nehus to approve the changes as requested by the Paramedic/EMS program. Motion carried.

## **General – All programs**

A recommendation was made to accept previously completed hours from AVTI toward an AAS degree from ATU.

Motion by William Nehus, second by Cathy Fultz to accept previously completed hours from AVTI toward an AAS degree. Motion carried.

Motion by William Nehus, second by Stan Hatcher to adjourn. Motion carried.