Institutional Review Board

The links below provide information regarding the use of human subjects in research. Any institution participating in research or sponsored programs must have an approval process in place for the use of human subjects. Dr. Jeff Aulgur (jaulgur@atu.edu) is currently functioning as chair of the Institutional Review Board.

Please allow up to four weeks for applications to be reviewed. Applications submitted within the first seven days of the month will be reviewed by the end of the month. If the IRB committee has any questions or concerns regarding the proposal the approval process may take longer than usual.

The Collaborative Institutional Training Initiative (CITI) is an online training module teaching research methods. Researchers must complete the CITI training course prior to beginning their project. The CITI training course can be found here: www.citiprogram.org.

IRB applications will not be reviewed without including proof of CITI course completion. 

Full IRB Application

IRB Policies & Procedures

Informed Consent

IRB PowerPoint

Class Project Application

Belmont Report

Class Project Certification of Completion

IRB Video Presentation


Institutional Review Board

Appointments 2017-2018

  • Supernumerary Group: Dr. Jeff Aulgur, jaulgur@atu.edu, chair
  • College of Business: Dr. Masanori Kuroki, mkuroki@atu.edu
  • College of Engineering & Applied Sciences: Dr. Alvin Williams, awilliams86@atu.edu
  • College of Natural and Health Sciences: Dr. Jennifer Helms, jhelms@atu.edu
  • College of Education: Dr. Christopher Trombly, ctrombly@atu.edu
  • College of Arts and Humanities: Dr. Gabriel Adkins, gadkins@atu.edu
  • Vice-President for Academic Affairs Appointee: Dr. Penny Willmering, pwillmering@atu.edu
  • Community Member, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs at Arkansas College of Health Education: Dr. Marti Echols