Department of Mechanical Engineering

The Department of Mechanical Engineering offers a four-year degree program leading to the Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (BSME) and a two-year degree program in Nuclear Technology. The program leading to the Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (BSME) degree is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET,


The mission of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Arkansas Tech University is to develop and educate students to become mechanical engineers exhibiting professional competency and ethics, with a desire for life-long learning.

Program Educational Objectives

Graduates of the Mechanical Engineering program will be problem solving, responsible professionals ready for work in industry or further studies in graduate programs.  Specifically, based on the needs of the program’s regional industry partners, within a few years of graduation, mechanical engineering alumni will have:

  • Obtained professional employment in an engineering or closely related field, entered a graduate program in engineering or gained admission to a professional program such as medicine, law or business.
  • Solved problems by applying appropriate engineering tools to the analysis, design, and production of products or systems.
  • Continued to develop their skills and increase their knowledge through professional activities including FE/PE certification, membership in professional societies, and continuing education courses.
  • Demonstrated good communication skills and worked effectively in team environments that include diverse membership across disciplines, backgrounds, positions, and locations.

The Vision of the Department of Mechanical Engineering is to be one of the region's exceptional accredited programs of mechanical engineering producing professionals for the state, nation and world.

It is highly recommended that all freshmen engineering students starting fall 2017 purchase laptop computers. Laptop computer specifications are at:

Transfer Policy for Electrical and Mechanical Engineering Departments
  1. Upper level engineering courses (3000 and 4000 level) are transferable from ABET accredited institutions accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC).
  2. Engineering senior design course credits are not transferable.
  3. No more than 12 credit hours of the required 3000 - 4000 level engineering, engineering elective or technical elective course credits may be transferred.
  1. All transfer courses from U.S. universities must be from institutions of higher education which have been accredited by a regional accrediting agency.
  1. Courses presented for transfer credit from non-U.S. institutions which are not ABET accredited must be accompanied by supporting materials such as course outlines, catalog descriptions, and, possibly, examples of student work, tests, etc. All such supporting material must be presented in English and must also meet any additional requirements imposed by the Office of Admissions and the Registrar. Arkansas Tech University requires the applicant to submit his/her academic credentials to a credential evaluation service. Preapproved courses from institutions in the A TU Study Abroad Program are exempt from these requirements.

Contact Information

Dr. John Krohn, Head

Corley, Room 202
(479) 964-0833


Wayne Helmer, John Krohn

Associate Professor

Robert Fithen

Assistant Professor

Turaj Ashuri, Seyed Ehsan Hosseini, Mehmet Kelestemur, Randy Kelley


Stanton Apple


For more information, please visit