

## Absentee voting or voting by mail

Twenty-eight states and Washington, D.C., offer "no-excuse" absentee voting, which means that any voter can request and cast an absentee/mail ballot, no excuse or reason necessary.

Eight states conduct elections entirely by mail (California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Vermont and Washington), which means voters do not need to request a ballot, and instead automatically receive one.

The remaining states require a voter to provide an excuse to qualify for an absentee/mail ballot.

Click on your state to follow the instructions provided:

	T
Alabama	<u>Alaska</u>
<u>Arkansas</u>	<u>Arizona</u>
California	<u>Colorado</u>
Connecticut	<u>Delaware</u>
<u>District of Columbia</u>	<u>Florida</u>
Georgia	<u>Hawaii</u>
<u>Idaho</u>	Illinois
<u>Indiana</u>	<u>lowa</u>
<u>Kansas</u>	<u>Kentucky</u>
Louisiana	<u>Maine</u>
Maryland	<u>Massachusetts</u>
Michigan	<u>Minnesota</u>
Mississippi	<u>Missouri</u>
Montana	<u>Nebraska</u>
<u>Nevada</u>	New Hampshire
New Jersey	New Mexico
New York	North Carolina
North Dakota	Ohio
<u>Oklahoma</u>	Oregon
Pennsylvania	Rhode Island
South Carolina	South Dakota
<u>Tennessee</u>	<u>Texas</u>
<u>Utah</u>	Vermont
<u>Virginia</u>	<u>Washington</u>
West Virginia	Wisconsin
Wyoming	

