Paul Lake: senior Professor of Creative Writing and author of Walking Backwards, Among the Immortals, Another Kind of Travel, Cry Wolf, andThe Republic of VirtueJerry KinderJerry KinderAlex SummerlinAlex SummerlinCupashia CoveyCupashia CoveyAnna FarrierAnna FarrierJustin GundermanJustin GundermanEmily RobertsEmily Roberts

Rebecca Nieboer

Rebecca NieboerVictoria WilkersonVictoria WilkersonBryan MockBryan MockTaylor EubanksTaylor Eubanks

Creative Writing Contest

The Department of English and World Languages at Arkansas Tech University encourages high school seniors to enter Tech's annual Creative Writing Contest. Previous winners are listed below.

Eligibility: Any high school senior is eligible.

The Award: Six awards worth as much as $1,500 will be given. These awards may be used to pursue any degree program at Arkansas Tech University, including Tech's B.F.A. in Creative Writing.

Submission Process: To enter, send a poem, a group of poems, a short story, or a piece of dramatic writing to the address at the bottom of this page. Your name, address and phone number should be written on the back of each page of your entry.

Deadline: Entries for the 2016 contest must be received by Jan. 15, 2016.

Application Address:Creative Writing ContestDepartment of EnglishArkansas Tech UniversityRussellville, AR 72801

Download: Click here to download or view the 2016 Creative Writing Contest poster.

2015 Winners

First Place: Jerry Kinder, Russellville, ARSecond Place: Alex Summerlin, Bryant, ARThird Place: Cupashia Covey, Lamar, ARFourth Place: Anna Farrier, Austin, ARFifth Place: Justin Gunderman, Plumerville, ARSixth Place: Emily Roberts, Dover, AR

Previous Creative Writing Contest Winners 2014 Winners

First Place: Rebecca Nieboer, Charleston, ARSecond Place: Victor Wilkerson, Pea Ridge, ARThird Place: Bryan Mock, Hot Springs, ArFourth Place: Taylor Eubanks, Dardanelle, ARFifth Place: Megan Lawson, Hindsville, ARSixth Place: Madison Grover, Lamar, AR

2013 Winners

First Place: Dakota Smith, St. Joe, ARSecond Place: Kylie Deaton, Austin, ARThird Place: Anthony Adams, Bradford, ARFourth Place: Matthew Post, Mayflower, ARFifth Place: Hannah Vines, Nashville, ARSixth Place: Cassidy New, Aztec, NM

2012 Winners

First Place: Hollie Hopson, DoverSecond Place: Ashley Rains, LeslieThird Place: Ethan Kinder, RussellvilleFourth Place: Samantha Lewis, Van BurenFifth Place: Jonathan Ross, DeQueen Sixth Place: Amber Tyler, Atkins

2011 Winners

First Place: Brittany Pickens, HarrisonSecond Place: Claire Magnus, Little RockThird Place: Joseph Jordan, SpringdaleFourth Place: Abigail Duvall, RussellvilleFifth Place: Shane Crabtree, ClintonSixth Place: Toni Jones, Mineral Springs

2010 Winners

First Place: Alissa Hertz, RussellvilleSecond Place: Martha Granderson, MonticelloThird Place: Katie Burns, Bald KnobFourth Place: Brittany Eakin, DoverFifth Place: Jennifer Cooley, MIneral Springs Sixth Place: Jessika Hintson, Pleasant Grove

2009 Winners

First Place: Emily Slape, HarrisonSecond Place: Rebekah Conner, HarrisonThird Place: Jessica Robison, DoverFourth Place: Robert Ruiz, Stillwater, OKFifth Place: Tiffany Byers, DoverSixth Place: Jeffrey Warndorf, Russellville 2008 Winners

First Place: Charlie Hittle, RussellvilleSecond Place: Whitney Burrow, MalvernThird Place: Clayton Lusk, RussellvilleFourth Place: Megan Lindsey Johnson, RussellvilleFifth Place: Rebecca Reeves, Fort SmithSixth Place: Zachary Sellers, Dover

2007 Winners First Place: Sasta Blackford BentonvilleSecond Place: Katherine William PelsorThird Place:Alex Henderson RoyalFourth Place:Lizeth Sandoval RussellvilleFifth Place: Amanda Kames, DoverSixth Place: Gracie Ingram, Sherwood

2006 Winners First Place: Matthew White DoverSecond Place: La Toya Sergent North Little Rock Third Place: Danielle Tucker Pine Bluff Fourth Place: Naomi Muncy Mountain Home Fifth Place: Allison Clark QuitmanSixth Place: Alex Clifton Paris

2005 Winners First Place: Pamela Liou , Richmond, VA Second Place: Kristen Sutterfield , Russellville Third Place: Leslie Miller , Clarksville Fourth Place: Timothy Hill , Morrilton Fifth Place: Bob Pellegrino, Hot Springs Sixth Place: Kara Perry, Fox

2004 Winners First Place: Sarah Bottoms, Benton, ARSecond Place: Sarah Morrison, Russellville, ARThird Place: Jon Ezell, Fort Smith, ARFourth Place: Maria Sigmon, Rogers, ARFifth Place: Sarah Jones, Cabot, ARSixth Place: Ramona Oliver, Menifee, AR

2003 Winners First Place: Sarah Benn, Cherryvale, KansasSecond Place: Erika Johnson, RussellvilleThird Place: Heather Browning, ArkadelphiaFourth Place: Rachel Williams, RussellvilleFifth Place: Meagan Durham, GreenwoodSixth Place: Richey Williams, Charleston

2002 Winners First Place: Nicholas Coleman, Spiro, OklahomaSecond Place: Cynthia Rice, Little RockThird Place: Misty Irving, RussellvilleFourth Place: Jessica Ralston, SpringdaleFifth Place: Tatum Branaman, LakeviewSixth Place: Heather Cope, Morillton

2001 First Place: Kari Spice, Little RockSecond Place: Sarah Hart, RussellvilleThird Place: Ginny Hudson, DoverFourth Place: Jill Hedges, HuntingtonFifth Place: Ricky Massengale, CharlestonSixth Place: Nick Morris, Glenwood

2000 First Place: Alex Cope, MorriltonSecond Place: Renae McCloud, RussellvilleThird Place: Clayton Caldwell, ClarksvilleFourth Place: Jennifer McIntosh, PlainviewFifth Place: Danielle Neeley, RussellvilleSixth Place: Rusty Cate, Murfreesboroh

1999 First Place: Angela West, Russellville High SchoolSecond Place: Christina Toole, Mountain Home High SchoolThird Place: Jeremy Burns, Russellville High SchoolFourth Place: Brandi Easterling, Glen Rose High SchoolFifth Place: Erin Butts, Dardanelle High SchoolSixth Place: Ben Malone, Bryant High School

1998 First Place: Louise Shiu, Russellville High SchoolSecond Place: Allison Brucker, Russellville High SchoolThird Place: Allison Osborne, Russellville High SchoolFourth Place: Bambi Reid, Clarksville High SchoolFifth Place: Scott McPherson, Grand Prairie High SchoolSixth Place: Jennifer Campbell, Hot Springs

1997 First Place: Emily Strawbridge, Mountain Home High SchoolSecond Place: Lori Leavell, Russellville High SchoolThird Place: Cynthia Wilcox, Ozark High SchoolFourth Place: Bambi Reid, Atkins High SchoolFifth Place: Angela Dunning, Russellville High SchoolSixth Place: Carolyn Schauer, Russellville High School

1996 First Place: Misty Beck, of MorriltonSecond Place: Sarah Chappell, of ClarksvilleThird Place: Joey McCollum, of MulberryFourth Place: Constance Matlock, of Mountain PineFifth Place: Nick Swain, of PerrySixth Place: Chau Tran, of Fort Smith

See photos of earlier winners.