#### Staff Senate Minutes

December 01, 2022

### **CALL TO ORDER**

President Kim Gray called the Arkansas Tech University Staff Senate meeting to order on Thursday December 01, 2022 at 9:01 a.m. in a hybrid in-person and WebEx virtual online meeting.

### **ROLL CALL**

#### Senators Present:

Sabrina Anwar Peggy Ayers Deidra Dillard Slade Dupuy Julie Ennis Karen Hall

## Senators Absent:

Cole Hendrix Natasha Branch

#### Visitor(s):

Alisa Waniewski Valli Wanzer Whitney Moore Susan Johnson Kim Tate Andrea Eubanks Brittany Reves Tammy Guarino Connie Herring Katie Hook Cindy Hubbard Kim Gray Margie Link

Krystle Manning Amber Meeks Cody Parsons Tammy Rye Miranda Senn Jamie Young

Cindy Dixon Kristian Thompson

> Brandie Gibbs Bryan Bramlett Janet Carnahan-Lee Leigh Hill Miranda Marin William Tomlin Austin Norman

## **Approval of Previous Minutes**

The minutes from the December 1, 2022 meeting were distributed electronically prior to the meeting. Senator Hall filed a motion to accept the minutes. Senator Ayers seconded the motion. The minutes were approved by Senate vote.

## **Special Report**

No special report.

## **Special Guest**

No special guests at this meeting.

## **Committee Reports**

President's Communication – Report given during VP Parson's update. Budget Advisory – Enclosed from 11/18. Grievance Committee – No report Scholarship – No report Insurance Committee – No report IT Prioritization and Impact – No report University Communication Working Group – No report Campus Space and Utilization – No report Special Projects/Events- No report International Travel Advisory Council – No report

## STAFF SENATE COMMITTEES

Staff Senate Fundraising: Cody Parsons, Karen Hall, Cole Hendrix, Peggy Ayers, Slade Dupuy Staff Senate Elections: Kim Gray, Margie Link, Connie Herring, Miranda Senn, Kristian Thompson Staff Senate Governance: Kim Gray, Kristian Thompson, Cindy Dixon, Slade Dupuy, Amber Meeks Staff Senate Communications: Cody Parsons, Tammy Rye, Deidra Dillard, Katie Hook, Sabrina Anwar Staff Senate Events & Involvement: Jamie Young, Karen Hall, Julie Ennis, Sabrina Anwar Staff Senate Courtesy: Jamie Young, Cole Hendrix, Natasha Branch, Karen Hall, Krystle Manning Staff Senate Professional Development: Kim Gray, Natasha Branch, Katie Hook, Julie Ennis, Amber Meeks

Staff Senate Survey Committee: Cody Parsons, Margie Link, Deidra Dillard, Miranda Senn, Cindy Dixon

## ATU STANDING COMMITTEES OR WORK GROUPS

Technology Working Group: Cody Parsons Staff Appreciation: Kim Gray, Tammy Rye, Connie Herring, Karen Hall Budget Advisory: Kim Gray Emergency Management and Safety: Cole Hendrix Campus Space and Utilization: Tammy Rye Diversity and Equity: Natasha Branch Technology Prioritization and Impact: Slade Dupuy Presidential Communication: VACANT Insurance and Benefits: Julie Ennis

# International Travel Advisory Council: Jamie Young Fee Sub-Committee: Kristian Thompson, Jamie Young SEARCH COMMITTEES

VPAA Search Committee: Cody Parsons

- "Academic Search" company selected to perform this search. Hoping to have candidates by March.

Government Relations Search Committee: Kim Gray

- Failed search and will start again next year.

## **Officer Reports**

- President Gray:
  - Hopes to develop "Committee Charge Guides" for each Staff Senate committee to help them stay true to their mission.

## Staff Senate Committee Proposal

- Fundraising a standing committee with goals of overseeing and directing fundraising activity
- Elections a standing committee with goals of overseeing vacancies, nominations, elections and term limits
- Governance a standing committee with goals of a periodic review of constitution, by laws, composition and procedures and adds value by institutionalizing best practices to ensure the groups effectiveness
- Communications a standing committee with goals of coordinating campus wide communication a plan
- Events and Involvement a standing committee with goals of organizing and assisting in planning of campus social and educational functions for staff
- Courtesy a standing committee with goals of maintaining community support for newly hired staff, staff suffering loss, or celebratory life events
- Professional Development a standing committee with goals of assisting staff in pursuing opportunities for professional development
- Staff Survey a standing committee to oversee the staff survey, review the results, and keep metrics.

## AD HOC Committees

- Technology Working Group- assist with global talk on similar or general Banner screens to increase knowledge of common areas employees are using across campus.
- Staff Appreciation assist in Campus Wide Discussion of ideas on how the university could show appreciation and thankfulness to staff

- Asks for Staff Senate to consider attending basketball game as a group to show our support.
- Next Lunch with an EC Member scheduled for January 18 with Dr. Gunter. Please contact President Gray at <u>kmckown@atu.edu</u> to sign up.
  - 1/18 EC Member Dr. Gunter
  - 3/15 EC Member Bruce Sikes
  - 5/17 Jason Geiken
- Vice President Parsons:
  - Recapped notes from the PCC.
- Secretary Young:
  - Computer Class set to have final meeting this upcoming Monday. Had a lovely group who are all much more comfortable around computers now.
  - Multicultural Book Club celebrating Native American and Indigenous Heritage Month on December 2 with a visit from Jim Davis of the Chickamauga Cherokee Tribe after reading There, There by Tommy Orange among other media.

### Old Business

- Staff Survey: Move to committee.
- Staff Senate Constitution By-Laws: Move to committee.

### New Business

• No new business.

## **Announcements**

- Officer Hentschel in Public Safety has an upcoming fundraiser following his serious injury. Please attend and support his family at Freddy's in Russellville on December 14!
- There will be an Ugly Sweater Party on December 6 for all employees. Wear your ugliest holiday garb and win prizes, celebrate the year with us.

## Next Meeting

Thursday, February 2, 2022, 9 a.m. via WebEx and in-person at RPL 325

## Meeting Adjourned

President Gray filed a motion to adjourn the meeting. Vice President Parsons seconded the motion. The Senate voted to adjourn the meeting at 9:46 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Jamie Young, Secretary