Staff Senate Minutes

April 3, 2023

CALL TO ORDER

President Kim Gray called the Arkansas Tech University Staff Senate meeting to order on Monday, April 3, 2023 at 10:07 a.m. in a hybrid in-person and WebEx virtual online meeting.

ROLL CALL

Senators Present:

Sabrina Anwar Peggy Ayers Cody Parsons Margie Link Cynthia Dixon Slade Dupuy Cole Hendrix Kim Gray Cindy Hubbard Amber Meeks **Krystle Manning** Miranda Senn Natasha Branch Senators Absent: Deidra Dillard Julie Ennis Visitor(s): Alex Manly Deanna Kile **Alexis Scrimshire** Debbie Ennis Alisa Waniewski Deborah Brady Alisha Williams Durena Long Allen Schaidle Erin Julian Amber Jacimore Bryan Fisher Andrea Eubanks Heather Taylor Andrew Stadler Hope Vilavanh Ashley Bryant Ilona Davidson

Andrea Eubanks Andrew Stadler Ashley Bryant Austin Norman Bryan Bramlett Brandi Tripp Brandie Gibbs Brent Drake Brittany Reves Cara Knight Caroline Kitchens Chelsea Martin Christi Brown David Blackburn Deanna Kile Debbie Ennis Deborah Brady Durena Long Erin Julian Bryan Fisher Heather Taylor Hope Vilavanh Ilona Davidson Jason Salmans Jeff Aulgur Joceline Argueta Joe Keating John Ruff Joshua Clem Julia Pope Justin Clark Kacie Lopez Kaylin Telford Kerri Threlkeld Kevin Solomon Kim Newman Kristi Higgs Kyndal Atkinson Lisa Clark Lydia Rogers Lyndsay Simpson Marcia Brown Marika Lederman Mary McCoy Megan Morris Melissa Riffle Michele Barraza Michelle Price Miranda Marin Nichole Edwards Niki Schwartz Pam Cooper Patti Grigsby Presley Thompson

Connie Herring

Tammy Rye

Katie Hook

Karen Hall

Jamie Young

Kristian Thompson

Rhonda Ralph Myra Rollans Sabrina Billey Samantha Huggins Sean Carnahan Steve Milligan Steven Campbell Tammy Guarino Tammy Weaver Tanda Morrison Tanya Martin Tim Land Tracey Hale Valli Wanzer Victoria Tomlin Whitney Robinson William Tomlin

Approval of Previous Minutes

The minutes from the March 2, 2022 meeting were distributed electronically prior to the meeting. Senator Hall filed a motion to accept the minutes. Senator Ayers seconded the motion. The minutes were approved by Senate vote.

Special Report [Abbreviated meeting today to solely focus on the Budget Update]:

Ms. Laury Fiorello:

- Budget Update
 - John Joyner is the new Budget Director.
 - Please contact <u>staffsenate@atu.edu</u> from an internal @atu.edu email address for access to more details.
 - Our state-appropriated funds are lower than some other universities; visitors suggested reaching out to our new Government Relations representative.
 - Be on the lookout for any inefficiencies you notice in your areas and share to help reduce costs.
 - VERI retirement numbers are in.
 - We are pushing for a Capitol Improvement plan to strategize around building repairs.

New Business / Discussion

• We hope to invite Gina Lockwood and Kevin Solomon in future meetings to discuss government relations and enrollment trends, respectively.

Announcements

• Employee Appreciation at the Ballpark will be moved up to 11:30 am on Tuesday, April 4 due to expected inclement weather. Staff are welcome to enjoy lunch provided by Simmons Bank.

Next Meeting

Thursday, May 4, 2023, 9 a.m. in RPL 325 and via WebEx

Meeting Adjourned

President Gray filed a motion to adjourn the meeting. Vice President Parsons seconded the motion. The Senate voted to adjourn the meeting at 11:34 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Jamie Young, Secretary