Faculty Senate

The Ozark Campus Faculty Senate shall recommend for the faculty in all curricular and instructional matters other than those involving changes in general academic policies, and to the administration on matters referred to it for action. Also, it shall serve as an advisory body to the faculty on matters involving academic and instructional policies and to the administration or the faculty, as appropriate.

2012-13 members:

Christy McCollough, chair Kendall Hopkins, vice-chair Angie Medlock, secretary Theresa Fontaine Gwen Faulkenberry Larry Thornton Bruce Sikes

Meeting minutes

Shared Governance

Arkansas Tech University is governed by a five-member Board of Trustees. The trustees are appointed by the governor and serve five-year terms. The president of Arkansas Tech reports to the Board of Trustees, and the chancellor of the Ozark Campus reports to the president. Reporting to the chancellor are the chief academic officer, chief fiscal officer, chief students officer, chief business and community outreach officer, as well as the director for public and external affairs.

The program chairs for each academic program on the Ozark Campus report to the chief academic officer. Faculty members report to their designated program chair. Programs are divided into five areas on campus: Allied Health, Adult and Continuing Education, Business Technology, General Education and Industry/Technology

The Ozark Campus is dedicated to a shared governance system, which requires that all university entities work together toward the common goal of fulfilling themission of the campus. The Board of Trustees sets university policies, the administration of the campus carries out these policies, and the faculty is responsible for academic matters concerning curriculum and instruction.

The Faculty Senate and the Ozark Campus' standing committees are the primary bodies through which recommendations for curriculum and instructional issues on campus are made.