

Faculty Senate

Minutes of THE FACULTY SENATE OF ARKANSAS TECH UNIVERSITY

This meeting of the 2022-2023 Faculty Senate was held at 12:00 p.m. on Monday, August 15, 2022 in Chambers West Dining Room, with WebEx streaming. The following members were present:

Dr. David Eshelman Dr. Newt Hilliard Dr. Efosa Idemudia Dr. Sean Huss

Dr. Julie Mikles-Schluterman

Dr. Sean Reed

Dr. Azin Sanjari Pirmahaleh

Dr. Masanori Kuroki Dr. Jamie Stacy

Dr. Peter Dykema Dr. Tom Nupp Dr. Rene Couture Dr. Bethany Swindell Dr. Arwen Taylor Breanna Claire Dr. Kuldeep Singh

Dr. Melissa Darnell

Dr. Carey Ellis Laffoon Dr. Ellen Treadway

Dr. Erica Wondoloski

Stan Apple Sherry Tinerella Jasmine Greer Dr. David Cullen

Absent: none

Guest: Dr. Gabby Haulmark

- **Call to Order:** Dr. Jamie Stacy called the meeting to order at 12:04 pm. Dr. Stacy passed the presidency to Dr. Sean Reed
 - A. Approval of the Minutes: Motion to approve the minutes from the April 27, 2022 from Dr. Michael Bradley, seconded by Dr. Sean Huss. Motion carried.

II. Committee Updates

A. Standing Committees

- 1. Budget Advisory Committee (Stacy): Changes to fee structure. Dr. Nupp will now serve as representative on this committee.
- 2. General Education Committee (Taylor): Ms. Sherry Tinerella will now serve as representative on this committee.
- 3. Institutional Aid Committee (Reed): No report.
- 4. Shared Governance Committee (Stacy): Scheduling an upcoming meeting with Academic Affairs.



Faculty Senate

- 5. Campus Space and Utilization Committee (Hilliard): Active over the summer due to restructuring. Dr. Singh will now serve as representative on this committee.
- 6. Faculty Salary and Benefits Committee (Hilliard): No report. Dr. Hilliard will continue to serve as representative on this committee.
- 7. Institutional Scholarship Appeals Committee (Swindell): Continue to meet and review appeals.
- 8. Professional Development Committee (Taylor): No report. Dr. Dykema will now serve as representative on this committee.
- 9. Technology Prioritization and Impact Committee (Shrestha): Mr. Stan Apple will now serve as representative on this committee.

B. Ad Hoc & Senate Committees

- 1. Faculty Workload Committee (Huss/Darnell): Policy sent August 9 for Department Head review
- 2. Insurance Benefit Committee (Davis/Stacy): Working on getting proposals for insurance renewals.
- 3. Faculty Senate Diversity and Inclusion Action Committee (Huss): Dr. Sean Huss is stepping down as chair so the vacancy needs to be filled.
- 4. Exploratory Committee on P&T Salary Increases (Hilliard): new CUPA dataset is under review. For internal use only and cannot be distributed.
- 5. Strategic Enrollment and Retention Committee (Mikles-Schluterman/Couture): Meeting in September. Action items divided between Academic Affairs and Student Affairs.
- 6. Committee Restructuring (Stacy): Officially stand down committee as process is complete.
- 7. Strategic Planning (Darnell): New departments and colleges are working on the plan, due mid-September.

III. New Business

- **A. VPAA Update (Furst-Bowe):** Dr. Furst-Bowe updated on the following items:
 - Projections are on track for enrollment and budget. Final numbers coming August 30.
 - New ACT score pilot program Arkansas requires ACT score while some states do
 not. Can now admit students without an ACT score but students must submit a score
 to be placed in proper level classes.
 - Issues with transfer students Dr. Cass is leading a group to streamline and improve the process. Dr. Stacy and Dr. Nupp will serve on the committee.
 - Workload Policy give flexibility to staff to work from home. Does not apply to faculty.
 Dr. Furst-Bowe recommends adding a remote work policy for faculty.
 - Prior Learning new committee focused on PLA policies and recommendations. Dr. Swindell will serve on the committee.
 - Micro credentialing for credit new committee. Dr. Wondoloski will serve.
- **B.** Faculty Development Campaign (Stacy): Goal is 100% participation. Campaign will start mid-September and conclude in October. Please provide ideas for incentive prizes.



Faculty Senate

- C. Travel Policy (Dr. Haulmark): Review of policy. Motion to approve the new policy from Dr. Huss, seconded by Dr. Darnell. Motion carried.
- **D.** Election of Secretary: Dr. Huss nominated Dr. Arwen Taylor. No further nominations were provided. Motion to approve Dr. Arwen as the 2022-2023 Faculty Senate Secretary from Dr. Huss, seconded by Dr. Eshelman. Motion carried.
- IV. Old Business
- V. Open Forum
 - An anonymous email regarding the lack of recycling on campus. Discussions on the current process and issues. Senators will fact-find and report at next meeting.
 - Issues with grant funding disbursements as the travel office is stringent. Request travel and grant office visit to next meeting.

Sean Read

- VI. Announcements and Information Items
- VII. Adjournment: Dr. Idemudia moved to Adjourn. Seconded by Dr. Treadway. Motion Carried.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dr. Jamui Stacy, Chair

Bethany Swindell, Secretary

Dr. Sean Reed, incoming chair

Dr. Arwen Taylor, Secretary