Minutes of THE FACULTY SENATE OF ARKANSAS TECH UNIVERSITY

The organizational meeting of the 2002-03 Faculty Senate was held at twelve o'clock noon, Monday, August 19, 2002, in the Private Dining Room of Chambers Cafeteria. The following members were present:

Dr. Annette Holeyfield	Dr. Scott Kirkconnell
Dr. Theresa Herrick	Dr. Kevin Mason
Dr. Trey Philpotts	Dr. Richard Smith
Mr. Ron Robison	Ms. Peggy Lee
Dr. Ken Trantham	Ms. Darla Sparacino
Dr. David Bell	Mr. Ken Futterer
Dr. Kathy Pearson	

Dr. Charles Busch and Dr. Steve Shry were absent. Dr. Robert C. Brown, President, Dr. Jack Hamm, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. David Underwood, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Paula Pendergrass, and Dr. Eric Lovely were visitors.

Dr. Brown welcomed the Senators back to campus and expressed his appreciation for their service. He reported that a recent survey had demonstrated that Arkansas Tech University's excellent performance has not been realized by the public beyond a certain constituency and that this must be addressed. He also emphasized that increasing retention and graduation rates ensures the future of Arkansas Tech and commended both Dr. Hamm and Dr. Underwood for their ongoing efforts in these areas. These are two key issues to be worked on during the upcoming year.

Dr. Brown reminded the Senators that the Legislature will meet in the spring concerning appropriations and allocations for higher education for the next biennium. He stated his hope for an economic turnaround resulting in brighter revenue forecasts for the state.

Dr. Brown also issued an invitation for a future luncheon, date to be determined by the Senate, to serve as an information session with the administration.

Dr. Hamm reported that resolutions received in his office from the Faculty Senate this past spring (i.e., recommendations relating to promotion and tenure and the curriculum approval process) were currently being reviewed by subcommittees of the Deans Council. He stated that their recommendations would then be taken to the Academic Council for feedback as any proposed changes would be implemented by this group. Dr. Hamm emphasized that any final proposed changes would be brought back to the Faculty Senate for additional feedback and discussion.

	Dr. Brown stated that the current Tech is the best Arkansas Tech University in its history and attributed this to the hard work of the faculty. He also extended a note of appreciation to Dr. Pendergrass for her service as chair during the past academic year and to Dr. Bell for his willingness to serve as chair during the upcoming year.
	At this time, Dr. Brown and Dr. Hamm excused themselves from the meeting.
CALL TO ORDER	Dr. Pendergrass, 2001-02 Chair, called the meeting to order and asked that the order of the agenda be suspended to allow for election of the chair-elect. Motion by Dr. Smith, seconded by Dr. Holeyfield, to suspend the order of the agenda. Motion carried.
ELECTION OF OFFICERS	Dr. Pendergrass asked for nominations for the position of Chair Elect. Dr. Kirkconnell nominated Ms. Sparacino; the nomination was seconded by Dr. Herrick. Mr. Futterer moved for nominations to cease and elect Ms. Sparacino by acclamation; seconded by Dr. Mason. Motion carried. Dr. Pendergrass and Dr. Lovely then excused themselves from the meeting.
	Dr. Bell, 2002-03 Chair, then asked for nominations for the position of Secretary. Dr. Herrick nominated Dr. Pearson; the nomination was seconded by Dr. Smith. Mr. Futterer moved for nominations to cease and elect Dr. Pearson by acclamation; seconded by Dr. Mason. Motion carried.
	Dr. Bell then asked each Senator to introduce themselves.
APPROVAL OF MINUTES	Dr. Bell asked for approval of the minutes of the April 9, 2002, meeting. Motion by Dr. Herrick, seconded by Dr. Smith, to approve the minutes as distributed. Motion carried.
REVISION OF CURRICULAR APPROVAL PROCESS	Dr. Bell asked Dr. Underwood to address the recommendations from the Assessment Committee, previously approved by the Curriculum Committee, requesting the following additions to the procedures for proposal of a new course and a new program: "Each new course proposal must include a short explanation describing how the new course integrates with the assessment process of the department in which the course will be taught. Each new program proposal must include an assessment plan using the approved University Assessment Form." Dr. Underwood stated that the one major concern of the North Central team during the university's recent accreditation visit was that assessment on campus appeared to vary greatly between departments. The Assessment Committee has been charged with monitoring progress in this area, and this proposal was one attempt to see that assessment methods were being implemented and utilized on campus. Motion by Dr. Holeyfield, seconded by Dr. Pearson, to approve the proposal. Motion carried. Dr. Underwood thanked the Senate for their attention to this issue and excused himself from the meeting.
RESOLUTION OF TIE	Dr. Bell reported that a tie for an at-large position on the Faculty Salary, Benefits, and Awards Committee had resulted from the spring elections. After a vote, Ms. Holly Ruth Gale was elected to the Faculty Salary, Benefits, and Awards Committee for the at-large position.
REGULAR MEETING TIME AND PLACE	Following discussion, the regular meeting time for the fall semester was set for the <u>third</u> Tuesday of the month at 3:00 p.m. Meetings will be held in Pendergraft 325.

ANNOUNCEMENTSDr. Bell stated that an open forum had been included on the Senate's agenda each month
during the previous year. This had allowed discussion of issues not currently on the
action agenda and asked if the current Senate wished to keep this as an agenda item. The
consensus of the Senators was to keep this item on the agenda for the upcoming year.

ADJOURNMENT The meeting adjourned at 12:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Pearson, Ed.D., Secretary