Corley 114B

If you are interested in joining the robotics team please contact Dr. Buford at

2007 Tech Robotics

The Arkansas Tech Robotics team did intend to compete in the 2007 IEEE Region 5 Robotics Competition, but due to time constraints the project was not completed. Rather than improving upon past designs, the 2007 design was a new approach to the competition. The team still performed well despite the unfortunate time circumstance.

2006 Tech Robotics

Wonderbot takes top honors at robotics contest. Adam Effrein (President), Daniel Epperson, Jonathan Hayes, Andrew McCullough, Anthony Tusing and Isaac Vaughan accompanied Mrs. Pat Buford and Dr. Daniel Bullock to represent Arkansas Tech at the Region 5 Conference Robotics Contest, April 7- 9th. Students began designing the robot early in the fall semester under the leadership of the project manager Anthony Tusing. "I am awed by the dedication of the robotics team" said Mrs. Buford. "In my many years of teaching, I've never seen students as excited about a project. Their motivation was to win and they did." Region 5 includes such Division I schools as Texas Tech University, the University of Texas at Austin, Oklahoma University, Texas Christian University, Wichita State, and others includingdefending champs, LSU. "I am so very proud of our students. They have demonstrated that our students can compete with the best engineering schools and be the winners." "I am also very grateful to Dr. Mostafa Hemmati and Steve Kline, the Faculty UndergraduateResearch Grant Program, and the Energy Center for providing major funding for this project. The student development fund and the River Valley Section of the IEEE provided funding for the trip. Microplane of Russellville, Radio Shack of Clarksville, Leonard's Ace Hardware of Russellville, CenturyTel of Russellville, Advanced Circuits of Aurora, California, and the Winthrop Rockefeller Center of Morrilton, supported the project with donations of parts and/or funding."