Chi Sigma Alpha

Student Affairs Honors Society

Chi Sigma Alpha is an honor society for graduate students, faculty and staff in higher education and student affairs. Based on the three pillars of academics, research and service to the profession, Chi Sigma Alpha has chapters across the United States.
Chi Sigma Alpha was founded in 2002 at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg, Virginia. To date, Chi Sigma Alpha has invited over 300 individuals and 15 chapters to membership since its formation.

In the spring of 2013, Drs. Christine Austin and Chris Giroir, inspired and challenged current students within the College Student Personnel Association (CSPA) to consider establishing a chapter of Chi Sigma Alpha to Arkansas Tech. After working with the national headquarters at The University of South Carolina, The Arkansas Tech charter was established and approved on January 17, 2014, formally recognizing ATU as the "Iota" chapter of Chi Sigma Alpha.  It is the second formally recognized graduate student organization on the ATU campus, with the first being CSPA.  

Membership Requirements:

To be considered for membership in Chi Sigma Alpha, candidates must have a cumulative graduate GPA of 3.75 or higher; completed at least 12 hours in the CSP program; and submit an application packet, which required submitting responses to short-answer questions and a resume. Applications are reviewed by a panel of faculty and student affairs professionals, with only the highest ranking applicants being chosen for membership. Inductions are held twice a year (once in Fall and once in Spring semesters).

Organizational Constitution:

Organizational Constitution


Contact Information:

For more information regarding the Iota Chapter of Chi Sigma Alpha, please contact Alex Chandler, 



 Alpha Class (Spring, 2014):

Emma Bottorff, Barbara Braga, Alexander Chandler, Andrea Cooper, Kara Funkhouser,Ana Gentry, Joshua Hulgan, Kelsey Hulgan, Shameka Jackson, Jay Lieblong, Debbie Martin,
Audra Porer, Hope Russell, Kara Wheeler

Honorary Members: Dr. Christine Austin and Dr. Chris Giroir

Fall 2014 Inductees

group photo of Chi Sigma Alpha Fall 2014 Inductees