Alcohol and Other Drugs Prevention Program and Policy

This policy is mandated by and complies with the provisions of the Drug-Free Schools and Communities Act Amendments of 1989 (Public Law 101-226). A copy of the biennial review may be obtained by contacting Craig Witcher, Counselor,, 479-968-0329.



Arkansas Tech University is committed to the maintenance of a drug and alcohol free work place and to a standard of conduct for employees and students that discourages the unlawful or unauthorized use, possession, storage, manufacture, distribution, or sale of alcoholic beverages and any illicit drugs or drug paraphernalia in University buildings, any public campus area, in University housing units, in University vehicles, or at any University affiliated events held on or off-campus, which are sponsored by students, employees and their respective campus organizations (including all fraternities and sororities). For Arkansas Tech University employees, compliance with this policy is a term and condition of employment. For Arkansas Tech University students and student organizations, compliance with this policy is a term and condition of continued enrollment/organizational registration.



Federal Penalties and Sanctions for Illegal Possession of a Controlled Substance – 1st conviction: Up to 1 year imprisonment and a fine of at least $1,000 but not more than $100,000, or both. After 1 prior drug conviction: At least 15 days in prison, not to exceed 2 years and a fine of at least $2,500 but not more than $250,000 or both. After 2 or more prior drug convictions: At least 90 days in prison, not to exceed 3 years and a fine of at least $5,000 but not more than $250,000 or both. Special sentencing provisions for possession of crack cocaine are mandatory 5 to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $250,000; both if (a) 1st conviction and the amount of crack possessed exceeds 5 grams, (b) 2nd crack conviction and the amount of crack possessed exceeds 3 grams (c) 3rd or subsequent crack conviction and the amount of crack possessed exceeds 1 gram. Personal and real property used to possess or to facilitate possession of a controlled substance may be forfeited if that offense is punishable by more than 1 year imprisonment. Vehicles, boats, aircraft, or any other conveyance used to transport or conceal a controlled substance may also be forfeited. Additional sanctions include civil fines of up to $10,000; denial of federal benefits, such as student loans, grants, contracts, and professional commercial licenses, up to 1 year for first offense, up to 5 years for second and subsequent offenses; and ineligibility to receive or purchase a firearm. Other sanctions vested within the authorities of individual federal agencies are revocation of certain federal licenses and benefits such as pilot licenses and public housing.

State of Arkansas Sanctions and Penalties





Arkansas Tech University utilizes evidenced-based strategic interventions, collaboration, innovation and the incorporation of the wellness dimensions to reduce harmful consequences of alcohol and other drug use. Drug and alcohol programming includes, but is not limited to:



Counseling services are provided on campus to students by calling (479) 968-0329 or by visiting the Health and Wellness Center located in Dean Hall room 126. These services are provided by licensed counselors, but do not include drug rehabilitation or detoxification services. Please see a counselor for more referral resources.


Turning Point at Saint Mary’s
1808 W Main Street
Russellville, AR 72801
(479) 967-0701


ARVAC Inc. Freedom House
400 Lake Front Drive
Russellville, AR 72801
(479) 968-7086


Teen Challenge – Women’s Ministries
PO Box 10443
Russellville, AR 72811
(866) 567-7101


The Hope Center
1706 East 2nd Street
Russellville, AR 72801
(479) 968-1635



Students violating the University policy on alcohol or other drugs are subject to sanctions up to and including expulsion from the University and referral for prosecution. Any employee violating any criminal drug statute while in the work place will be subject to discipline up to and including termination. The University may notify parents or guardians of students under age 21 who are found to be in violation of the drug or alcohol policies as set forth in the Student Code of Conduct.