Ensemble & Concert

Arkansas Tech University offers a comprehensive band program with several concert band offerings designed to meet various needs of the students.

ATU Symphonic Wind Ensemble

This ensemble meets year round and admission is by audition only. The typical complement is approximately 50 students. Comprised almost completely of music majors, but open to students of any major, this ensemble is for the most serious wind performer and music education student. Auditions are held at the beginning of each semester over excerpts for each instrument. Typically, this ensemble performs 6 concerts per year of the highest level of literature. Recent performances have included Mendelssohn's Overture Op. 24, Karel Husa's Music for Prague, Paul Hindemith's Symphony in Bb, and Steven Bryant's Ecstatic Waters. SWE traditionally tours once per year which includes past performances at the Arkansas All-State Conference, CBDNA Southwestern Regional Convention, ASBDA National Convention, and ABA conventions. The Wind Ensemble is dedicated to the exploration of new music for Wind Ensemble and the advocacy of music by current composers. Equally important is the performance of historically significant wind literature from harmoniemusik through important 20th-century band literature.

ATU Symphonic Band

The symphonic band is the second of our 3 performing ensembles. Comprised primarily of music majors, this group is also open to students of all majors by audition. The Symphonic Band meets 4 hours per week in the spring semester and performs high level literature. Similar to the Symphonic Wind Ensemble, this group provides a variety of both historically important and new music. The Symphonic Band performs twice in the spring semester.

ATU Concert Band

The concert band is a large performing group dedicated to the non-music major population. There is no audition requirement for this group. The Concert Band meets in the spring semester and rehearses only 3 hours per week. Performing 2 concerts per year, this ensemble is open to all students in the university.