Dr. Mary B. Gunter, Dean
Tomlinson Hall, Room 113 (479) 968-0398
Fax: (479) 964-0542
Individuals who meet the admission requirements listed below may apply to Arkansas Tech University. The University reserves the right to reject the application of any individual. Every student must file an application for admission. An application for admission to graduate study may be obtained by contacting the Graduate College or going online to http://www.atu.edu/gradcollege/. Priority deadline date for fall admission is March 1 and spring admission is October 1. This will ensure consideration for admissions and assistantships. Students who do not meet this deadline, may submit necessary credentials for admission up to two weeks in advance of the initial date of enrollment. Applicants for admission must submit a completed application form and request from the college or university granting their bachelor’s degree an official transcript be sent directly to the Graduate College.
Detailed information regarding graduate student admissions may be obtained by contacting: Graduate College, 1507 North Boulder Avenue, Tomlinson 113, Russellville, AR 72801. Phone (479) 968-0398 or (479) 356-2203, or FAX (479) 964-0542 or go online to http://www.atu.edu/gradcollege/.
Applicants must meet the admission requirements established for a particular degree program. Approved applicants will be notified in writing of their eligibility for admission to graduate study. Application for admission will be valid for one semester; applicants who do not enroll during the semester in which they applied will be required to reapply for admission. Admission to graduate study does not imply admission to a specific program or to candidacy for a degree.
Tech will provide equal opportunity in admission to all persons. This applies to all phases of the admission process. Any demographic information collected through the Admission Application is on a voluntary basis and is to be used in a nondiscriminatory manner consistent with applicable civil rights laws for reporting and statistical purposes only and cannot affect eligibility for admission.
Any student requiring special accommodations in order to complete a course or program of study should contact the Disabilities Director, Bryan Hall, Room 103, or call (479) 968-0302. The Disabilities Director administers programs and services associated with the Americans with Disabilities Act and serves as a liaison for students with disabilities.
Beginning June 1, 2007, all students at Arkansas Tech University will be assigned a permanent, randomly generated, student identification number. Student’s social security numbers will be used only on applications for admission and solely for the purposes of State and Federal reporting requirements and determination of eligibility for Federal financial aid.
Persons born after January 1, 1957, must furnish proof of immunity against measles and rubella by sending proof of two (2) MMR immunization shots to the Tech Health and Wellness Center prior to enrollment in classes. For more information contact the Health and Wellness Center at (479) 968-0329.
For unconditional admission applicants must:
1. Pay a $25.00 one time application fee directly to the Graduate College.
2. Hold a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college verified by an official transcript.
3. Have a cumulative grade point average of 2.5 or a 3.00 on the last 30 hours of undergraduate work or hold a graduate degree from a regionally accredited institution.
4. Request from the college or university granting their bachelor’s degree a complete undergraduate official transcript sent directly to the Graduate College. Mail all materials to: Graduate College, 1507 North Boulder Avenue Tomlinson 113, Russellville, AR 72801.
5. Meet additional admission requirements specified by programs in the graduate catalog (GRE, writing samples, etc.).
Applicants may be admitted conditionally if they:
1. Do not meet the grade point requirements.
2. Hold a bachelor’s degree from an unaccredited institution.
3. Have not met additional requirements of particular programs.
4. Have not submitted all necessary documentation prior to initial enrollment.
Applicants who fail to meet the grade point requirement specified for unconditional admission may be admitted conditionally to enroll for a maximum of twelve semester hours. If a student was admitted conditionally based on grade point average, the condition will be met if upon completion of twelve semester hours a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or better is achieved.
An applicant who satisfies the grade point requirement at an unaccredited college may also be granted conditional admission. In some instances, transcripts may be judged to be deficient and the student may be required to complete up to thirty undergraduate hours in addition to graduate credits required for the degree. If a cumulative 3.00 grade point average is achieved at the completion of twelve graduate hours, the student will be granted unconditional admission.
Applicants not pursuing a graduate degree may be admitted as non-degree seeking graduate students upon submitting a completed application for admission to graduate study and an official transcript from an accredited college or university showing that a baccalaureate or higher degree has been earned at that institution. Applicants requesting non-degree admission must meet the same grade point admission criteria as outlined for degree admission. A maximum of twelve graduate hours earned while in non-degree status may apply to a degree program. Students desiring to change from a non-degree admission status to a degree admission status must apply for degree admission.
Applicants who are pursuing a graduate degree at another institution may be admitted as transient graduate students upon submission of a completed application for admission to graduate study and an official statement from their institution verifying that they have been admitted to its graduate program and are in good standing.
International Graduate Student Admissions
The International and Multicultural Student Services Office (IMSSO) is pleased to assist International students who wish to study at Arkansas Tech University (Tech). Any student who is not a United States citizen or a permanent resident of the United States is considered an international student. International students are subject to out-of-state tuition rates and an international student services fee as well as additional admission requirements. International students interested in applying for admission to Tech must submit the following documents:
The application for international admission and all supporting documents should be submitted by May 1 for the fall semester, October 1 for the spring semester and March 1 for both summer sessions for priority consideration. Applications are still accepted after the priority dates. Admission will not be granted until all supporting documentation as listed above has been received and evaluated. Upon acceptance, notification will be sent to the student along with an I-20 (Certificate of Eligibility).
Students seeking to defer admission to a future term must submit a $25 USD deferral fee along with updated evidence of financial support. Please send a written request for deferral to the IMSSO along with the fee and updated financial support documentation within 60 days of the start date of your last admission.
Full payment of tuition and fees must be paid at registration each semester. International students are required to purchase a health insurance policy provided by the university. Tech receives no remuneration as a result of international student enrollment in the health insurance plan.
More detailed information regarding international student admissions may be obtained by contacting the International and Multicultural Student Services Office, Tomlinson 29, Arkansas Tech University, Russellville, Arkansas, 72801-2222, USA; telephone 479-964-0832; fax 479-880-2039; web http://www.atu.edu/imsso.
Undergraduate Senior Admission
An undergraduate senior, registering the semester prior to graduation in a baccalaureate degree program at Arkansas Tech University, who does not need a full load of undergraduate courses to complete requirements for graduation, may request special permission from the Dean of Graduate College to enroll in no more than six hours of graduate course work. The student’s course load is not to exceed a total of 15 semester hours of graduate and undergraduate work combined during a fall or spring semester. The combined course load for a summer term is six semester hours. The student must have a 3.00 cumulative grade point average to be eligible for admission as an undergraduate senior. Graduate work taken while classified as an undergraduate senior appears on the undergraduate transcript. Failure of a student to complete the bachelor’s degree during the semester/term in which the graduate courses are taken will preclude the student from enrolling in additional graduate classes in subsequent semesters until the bachelor’s degree is awarded. The form requesting approval to enroll as an undergraduate senior can be obtained at the Graduate College online at http://www.atu.edu/gradcollege/faculty_forms.shtml.
Subject to the approval of the advisor, program director, and Dean of Graduate College a graduate student may be allowed to apply six (6) or nine (9) semester hours toward a second master’s degree. If the second master’s degree requires 30 hours, a maximum of six (6) hours may be applied to the second degree. If the second master’s degree requires 36 hours or more, a maximum of nine (9) hours may be applied to the second master’s degree.
Any courses applied to the second master’s degree must meet the requirements for the degree and must not be more than six years old at the time of completion of the second master’s degree. All remaining courses applied to meet the requirements for the second master’s degree must be taken in residence at Arkansas Tech University. Approval for applying these courses must be received at the beginning of the second master’s degree program.
Transfer of Graduate Credit
Graduate Credit Taken Prior to Admission to Arkansas Tech University
A maximum of six semester hours of graduate credit in a 30 hour program and nine semester hours of graduate credit in a 36 hour program with a grade point average of “B” or better may be transferred from an accredited graduate school if deemed appropriate to the graduate program by the head of the student’s major department and the Dean of Graduate College. Students must send a written request to the head of their major department to petition an acceptance of the transfer credit prior to requesting admission to candidacy to the graduate program. Graduate credit earned six years prior to the completion date of all degree requirements may not be applied toward the degree without the approval of the appropriate program director and the Dean of Graduate College. Credits earned by correspondence courses or for remedial purposes will not apply toward the graduate degree. No undergraduate course may be repeated for graduate credit.
Graduate Credit Taken After Admission to Arkansas Tech University
If after admission to graduate study, a student wishes to take a course at another institution to count toward degree requirements at Arkansas Tech University, the student must (in advance of enrollment) obtain written approval from the program director and the Dean of Graduate College.
Candidates for a master’s degree may choose to complete requirements under the regulations published in the Tech graduate catalog for the year of initial enrollment in the graduate program at Arkansas Tech University or a subsequent year, provided they were enrolled in the graduate program at the University during the year the catalog was in effect. The catalog chosen must not be over six years old when requirements for the degree are completed.
Upon entering the graduate program, the student should develop a planned program of studies (including determined prerequisites) under the supervision of their designated faculty advisor. Subsequent modifications must be approved by the advisor and program director.
Graduate Student Load
Graduate students may enroll for a maximum of twelve hours of credit per semester during the academic year and six hours of credit during each of the two summer terms. A one-credit-hour overload may be authorized by the program director of the student’s major department. A graduate student will be considered full time if enrolled for nine or more hours of credit during a regular semester or five hours during a summer term. Graduate Assistants will be considered full-time if carrying six or more hours. Students receiving financial aid should check with the Financial Aid office for requirements necessary to be considered a full time students. Permission to take more than the maximum loads stated above requires the written approval of the students advisor, program director, and Dean of Graduate College.
Adding and Dropping Courses
Changes in the class schedule must be made on official forms available at the Registrar’s Office, Room 153, Doc Bryan Student Services Building. Failure to follow the correct procedure for making changes in the class schedule may result in the grade of “F” being recorded for the courses involved. Deadlines for adding courses, dropping courses, or changing sections are listed in the graduate calendar in this catalog.
Grading and Credit Point System
The letters A, B, C, D, F, are used in grading to indicate the quality of a student’s work: A - Excellent, B - Good, C - Fair, D - Unsatisfactory, and F - Failure. The letters AU, W, I, CR, and R are also used: “AU” indicates that the student was enrolled in the course as an “auditor”; “W” is used to indicate that a course was dropped without penalty. A grade of “I” may be recorded for a student who has not completed all the requirements of a course only in situations where the student has an illness or other circumstances beyond the student’s control, and has completed seventy-five percent of the course requirements provided work already completed is of passing quality. If a grade of “I” is assigned, the instructor will complete an “Incomplete Grade Contract,” setting a reasonable time limit within the following semester in which the work must be completed. The incomplete grade contract is to be signed by both the instructor and student. The letter “R” indicates that the student registered for the master’s thesis. The mark “R” gives neither credit nor grade points toward a graduate degree. The mark “CR” gives credit for hours only.
If a student needs to repeat a course or a significant portion of a course, a “W” or “F” will be assigned according to regulations governing the assignments of such grades.
Repeating a Course
No graduate student may repeat a course for graduate credit except with the written permission of the advisor. The grade from such a repetition as well as the original grade will be counted in computing the grade point average.
To withdraw officially, the student must report to the Graduate College and the Office of the Registrar to complete a “Withdrawal Application.” Failure to follow this procedure may result in a grade of “F” being recorded.
The deadline for officially withdrawing from the University with grades of “W” is the same as the last day for dropping courses. Withdrawing after this date, which is listed in the graduate calendar in this catalog, will result in grades of “F” being recorded for the semester/term. If circumstances justify special consideration, appeals should be directed to the Dean of Graduate College.
Removal of “I” Grades
An “I” grade must be removed by the end of the succeeding regular semester of enrollment after the “I” is received. Beginning the first summer term, 1990, and thereafter, a grade of “I” will not be computed in the grade point average for the semester recorded; however, the “I” will automatically change to a grade of “F” and be computed in the grade point average at the end of the next regular semester (fall or spring), unless course requirements are completed and the final grade is reported before the end of the semester. A grade of “I” recorded prior to the first summer term, 1990, will be computed as an “F” in the grade point average unless the “I” is removed.
Courses for Audit
Enrollment in courses for audit requires admission to graduate study at the University, approval of the Vice President for Academic Affairs and the instructor involved, and payment of the regular fee for the course. Audit will be on a “space-available” basis. Students auditing courses are subject to the same regulations as other students with regard to registration, but they do not take examinations nor receive credit for the course. Students may change from taking a course for credit to audit by following the procedure for adding and dropping courses.
Independent Study Courses
Independent study courses are intended for graduate students who have the interest and the ability to investigate a topic not covered in the graduate courses available in their major field of study. The topic, format, and specific requirements of each independent study project must be approved in writing by the supervising instructor, graduate advisor, program director, and Dean of Graduate College prior to enrollment for independent study credit. The original copy of the independent study approval form will be kept in the student’s file in the Registrar’s Office as part of the student’s official graduate record. A student may not enroll in an independent study course before completing twelve hours of graduate credit.
Limit on Workshop and Independent Study Credit
No more than six semester hours of graduate course work completed in workshops and/or independent study may be applied to the master’s degree.
Incompletion of Capstone Projects
Students enrolling in capstone projects such as the project in educational research, the liberal arts project, or thesis research will be given a grade of “R” if requirements are not completed by the end of the semester. The grades of “R” or “CR” do not affect hours or grade point. Students receiving the grade of “R” will be required to enroll in the course the following semester(s) until the requirements are completed. The grade of “CR” gives credit only for the hours enrolled.
Academic Probation and Dismissal
A student admitted unconditionally or a student who has been admitted to candidacy will be considered on probation for the following semester if the cumulative grade point average drops below 3.00. If the semester grade point average for the following semester is 3.00 or greater and the cumulative grade point average is 3.00 or greater, the student will be removed from probation. If the cumulative grade point average remains below 3.00, the student will be continued on probation. A student on probation having a semester grade point average below 3.00 for the following semester will be subject to suspension from Graduate College.
A student who is admitted conditionally or on a non-degree basis will be subject to suspension from Graduate College after attempting 12 semester hours with less than a 3.00 grade point average.
A student who has been admitted to candidacy but does not have a 3.00 grade point average at the time of completing the minimum number of hours required by the degree program may submit no more than six additional hours in an attempt to attain a grade point average of 3.00. A maximum of six hours of courses with grades of “C” may be applied to degree requirements. Grades below “C” will not be counted toward meeting degree requirements. A student may not submit more than six hours above the total number of hours required for the program to reach the 3.00 grade point average. All graduate courses taken will be considered in the computation of the grade point average.
A student suspended from Graduate College may apply for readmission after one year. Reinstatement to Graduate College will not necessarily mean reinstatement to a particular graduate program.
Academic Dishonesty/Academic Misconduct
A university exists for the purpose of educating students and granting degrees to all students who complete graduation requirements; therefore, Arkansas Tech University requires certain standards of academic integrity and conduct from all students. The University expects an academic atmosphere to be maintained in all classes. This atmosphere is created by both the professor and the class to enable all students enrolled to reach their academic potential. Students are expected to attend class, conduct themselves in a non-disruptive manner in class, and refrain from cheating, plagiarism, or other unfair or dishonest practices.
The Graduate Student Academic Conduct Policy may be found at the Arkansas Tech University Graduate College home web-page. This policy defines Academic Dishonesty and Academic Misconduct. These definitions are not all inclusive and conduct not expressly set forth in the definitions may also be considered academic dishonesty or academic misconduct. The policy also includes the description of the Graduate Academic Appeals Committee, the procedure for charges of academic dishonesty, and the procedure for charges of academic misconduct.
Appeal procedures of academic grades or academic program dismissal are found in the Student Handbook. All other types of appeals not solved at the instructor or departmental level should be referred to the Dean of Graduate College.
Assessment is conducted university-wide to measure student progress toward educational goals, to improve teaching and learning, and to evaluate institutional effectiveness. A number of instruments and techniques are used in the assessment process. In addition to the normal procedures for grading, graduate students may be asked to complete surveys, participate in focus groups, or participate in other assessment activities designed to ensure the continued improvement of the quality of learning. Additional details concerning the University’s assessment efforts can be obtained by contacting the Director of Institutional Research and Assessment.
The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act
The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) affords student’s certain rights with respect to their education records. They are:
1.) The right to inspect and review the student’s education records within 45 days of the day the University receives a request for access. Students should submit to the Registrar, Dean, Head of the Academic Department, or other appropriate official, written requests that identify the record(s) they wish to inspect. The University official will make arrangements for access and notify the students of the time and place where the records may be inspected. If the records are not maintained by the University official to whom the request was submitted, that official shall advise the student of the correct official to whom the request should be addressed.
2.) The right to request that the student’s education records that the student believes the inaccurate or misleading be amended.
Students may ask the University to amend a record that they believe is inaccurate or misleading. They should write the University official responsible for the record, clearly identify the part of the record they want changed, and specify why it is inaccurate or misleading.
If the University decides not to amend the record as requested by the student, the University will notify the student of the decision and advise the student of his or her right to a hearing regarding the request for amendment. Additional information regarding the hearing procedures will be provided to the student when notified of the right to a hearing.
3.) The right to consent to disclosures of personally identifiable information contained in the student’s education records, except to the extent that FERPA authorizes disclosure without consent.
One exception which permits disclosure without consent is disclosure to school officials with legitimate educational interests. A school official is a person employed by the University in an administrative, supervisory, academic, research, or support staff position (including law enforcement unit personnel and health staff); a person or company with whom the University has contracted (such as an attorney, auditor, collection agent, or internship agreement); a person serving on the Board of Trustees; or a student serving on an official committee, such as a disciplinary or grievance committee, or assisting another school official in performing his or her tasks.
4.) The right to file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Education concerning alleged failures by Arkansas Tech University to comply with the requirements of FERPA. The name and address of the Office that administers FERPA is:
Family Compliance Office
U.S. Department of Education
600 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, D.C. 20202-4605
“Directory information” at Arkansas Tech University consists of the student’s name, address, telephone listing, electronic mail address, dates of attendance1, major field of study, enrollment status (e.g undergraduate or graduate), participation in officially recognized activities and sports, weight and height of members of athletic teams, degrees, honors and awards received, and the most recent educational agency or institution attended.
The information may be made available upon request to members of the general public. If a student on the Russellville campus wishes for this information to be regarded as confidential, according to the provisions of the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, she/he should notify the Chief Student Officer at (479) 508-3310.
While every effort will be made to conform to catalog announcements, the University reserves the right to adapt its program as may be necessary.
1Dates of attendance means the period of time during which a student attends or attended an educational agency or institution. Examples of dates of attendance include an academic year, a spring semester, or a first quarter. The term does not include specific daily records of a student’s attendance at an educational agency or institution.
Copyright © 2010 Arkansas Tech University | All Rights Reserved
Russellville, Arkansas 72801 USA | For general information call 479-968-0389
All trademarks herein belong to their respective owners